RSS Feed

Birthday joy

Posted on

Hey guys!

Three birthdays have been passed since I first started to show others via my blog what I cook. I am so so happy I have this opportunity to cook, that I have so many kitchen utensils, cookbooks and ideas, and that is all thanks to my dear friends and family who supported me.

I still have university vacations so I have plenty of time to cook. This birthday was no different from others – I made a lot of dishes, some I tried for the first time, some were make-it-or-i-won’t-come foods :D My friends and I rolled not walked later :D

We also had a great time making soap! Yes, so to make this day more interesting and unusual, I decided we made soap, organic from herbs and essential oils. There will be pictures of how we made them in this post. It was so fun! Try it, you’ll like it:)

Hope you  enjoy the recipes. My friends told everything was very tasty and I strongly agree with them!

1Awesome and refreshing apple drink. Recipe – 1/2 apple juice (organic), 1/2 sparkling water, fresh mints

1Yorkshire puddings. They were tasty and so fluffy, but funny at the same time – I mean at the picture you can see puddings that came out of the form, rolled over and went back. I mean WHY NOT?

Ingredients

3 eggs

115g plain flour, sifted

a pinch of salt

285 ml milk

Recipe

Whisk the eggs, add dry ingredients. Mix well and leave to cool in the fridge for about 30 min. Pour the batter into muffin trays and bake for about 20 min. DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN DOOR WHILE COOKING otherwise Yorkshires will end up sunken.

3

Vegetable flan. The one that everyone wanted so much so I made it. Similar recipes you can find on my other posts.

Ingredients:

For the pastry: 175g flour, sifted

Salt, pepper

75 g margarine or butter

3 table spoons water

1 table spoon vegetable oil

Seed mix

For the filling: 200 g Riccota cheese

200 g Greek yoghurt

1/2 squash

salt, pepper, dried parsley, basil

50 g cashews

2 onions

Recipe

Make the pastry: mix the dry ingredients, add grinded margarine or butter, add the rest of ingredients. Leave in the fridge for at least few hours (it will be much easier to work with the pastry, it won’t break while rolled out). Roll the pastry, using the roller (shown in the picture) put the pastry in the tray. Bake for about 20 minutes.

Cook squash rings on a pan with a bit oil. Put the rings on the flan base. Make the filling – mix the rest of ingredients (onions just cut into small cubes and add them to the pastry). Cook for about 40 minutes. Decorate with fresh dill, basil and paprika.

2

The ingredients

4

Step by step how to make the flan

2

Me cooking

3Home made blueberry ice cream

Ingredients

250 g Mascarpone

500 g double cream

200 g caster sugar

500 g fresh blueberries

Recipe

Whip the cream, add sugar, Mascarpone. Make a blueberry puree. Mix into the cream. Put in the freezer for about an hour, take out, mix again and put back into the freezer. Repet one more time and the last time you mix it, leave in the freezer for at least couple of hours. Serve with fresh berries.

2

Step by step how to make ice cream

4

Soap we made. Such a nice smell!

This was such a great idea, I had never done that until now; we probably mad esome mistakes but I think they all were perfect:)

We used soap base, different essential oils and herbs. Recepe – melt the base (boil water in a pot, put a bowl on it and melt the base in the bowl). Very quickly add anything you like and put the mass into some trays, we used paper muffin trays.

1

Step by step how we made soap2

My friends (from the left) Anete and Sandija

3

5At the end we put each peace of soap in this light fabric

I am so happy that we had such a nice party! Thank you everyone who came! We will definitely repeat this!

1

From left: Marta, Ieva, me, Anete, Sandija, Inga3Frome left: Inga, Sandija, me, Marta, Ieva, Anete and Brigita taking the picture:)

H.R.

Leave a Reply

